Guilded Circle

Guilded Circle

Posted by Mike Finnegan on Jan 11th 2018

Congratulations go to today’s announced nominees for the 70th annual Director Guild of America Awards for achievement in 2017 Feature Film and First-Time Feature Film. By way of paying tribute to those also honored across the years by their directing peers, following are the distinguished Twilight Time library titles whose helmers were similarly honored by the DGA. Please note that through the 1950s and 1960s, the union spread the wealth more broadly in the form of “Nominees” and “Finalists,” encompassing a larger field of recognition for dynamic and distinctive work. Instances in which the artist went on to secure a Best Director Academy Award® nomination carry the designation (AAN).

1949 Winner: Robert Rossen for All the King’s Men (AAN)

1954 Nominee: Samuel Fuller for Hell and High Water

1956 Finalists: Robert Rossen for Alexander the Great and George Sidney for The Eddy Duchin Story

1957 Finalists: Mark Robson for Peyton Place (AAN) and Joshua Logan for Sayonara (AAN)

1958 Nominees: Delmer Daves for Cowboy, Edward Dmytryk for The Young Lions and

Martin Ritt for The Long, Hot Summer

1958 Finalist: Robert Wise for I Want to Live! (AAN)

1960 Nominee: Carol Reed for Our Man in Havana

1965 Nominee: Elliot Silverstein for Cat Ballou

1966 Nominee: James Hill for Born Free

1967 Nominees: James Clavell for To Sir, with Love and Stanley Donen for Two for the Road

1967 Finalist: Stanley Kramer for Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner (AAN)

1977 Nominee: Fred Zinnemann for Julia (AAN)

1984 Nominee: Robert Benton for Places in the Heart (AAN)

1993 Nominee: James Ivory for The Remains of the Day (AAN)

1995 Nominee: Ang Lee for Sense and Sensibility

The 2017 winners will take home their trophies on Saturday February 3. You can cast your eyes on the 20 prized pictures listed above anytime in glorious 1080p high-definition on TT Blu-ray.